WWW.1879ZULUWAR.COM

Film Zulu Dawn:[on the death of his young assistant from friendly fire]Corporal Storey: Oh no! Come all this bloody way to get shot by a bullet from Birmingham? Shoot straight you bastards!
 
HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  PublicationsPublications  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Latest topics
» Border Horse and Cape Mounted Rifles regiments
Today at 3:48 pm by John Young

» Zulu 'pickets' at Isandlwana
Today at 7:41 am by SRB1965

» Surgeon Major P. Shepherd Army Medical Department,
Yesterday at 8:19 pm by ADMIN

» iSandlwana in New Delhi - Viceroy’s House
Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:23 am by 90th

» Mackinnon & Shadbolt 2nd edition
Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:21 am by 90th

» Colourised original photos.
Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:11 pm by xhosa2000

» 1595 Pte. E. Jones 2nd 24th Foot/ T. Harris HMS Boadicea
Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:55 pm by ADMIN

» Staff College, Camberley. Class of 1880-1
Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:20 am by 90th

» Reginald da Costa PORTER.
Mon Apr 16, 2018 10:21 pm by ADMIN

» Alan Gardner Biography. Rifle and Spear with the Zulu
Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:14 pm by Frank Allewell

» Springbok in Natal from 2010 through to 2015
Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:02 pm by rusteze

» The Ammuntion Box Question.
Mon Apr 16, 2018 10:53 am by ADMIN

» Memorial Inscription - Hanley, Staffordshire Hanley Cemetery and War Graves
Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:38 am by ADMIN

»  Durnford's Rocket Battery
Sat Apr 14, 2018 5:05 pm by rusteze

» Isandlwana Battlefield Map
Sat Apr 14, 2018 2:35 pm by John Young

The Prince Imperial of France--rare pose
(Isandula Collection)
The Road to Isandlwana (The Zulu Wars) | 1 of 3
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Top posters
90th
 
littlehand
 
Frank Allewell
 
ADMIN
 
1879graves
 
Chelmsfordthescapegoat
 
John
 
Mr M. Cooper
 
rusteze
 
impi
 
Fair Use Notice
Fair use notice. This website may contain copyrighted material the use of which has not been specifically authorised by the copyright owner. We are making such material and images are available in our efforts to advance the understanding of the “Anglo Zulu War of 1879. For educational & recreational purposes. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material, as provided for in UK copyright law. The information is purely for educational and research purposes only. No profit is made from any part of this website. If you hold the copyright on any material on the site, or material refers to you, and you would like it to be removed, please let us know and we will work with you to reach a resolution.
Top posting users this month
Frank Allewell
 
SRB1965
 
ADMIN
 
90th
 
rusteze
 
xhosa2000
 
John Young
 
Julian Whybra
 
1879graves
 
barry
 
Most active topics
Isandlwana, Last Stands
Durnford was he capable.5
Pte David Jenkins. 'Forgotten' Survivor of Rorke's Drift Returned to Official Records
Durnford was he capable.2
Durnford was he capable. 3
Durnford was he capable.1
Durnford was he capable. 4
The ammunition question
Pte David Jenkins. 'Forgotten' Survivor of Rorke's Drift Returned to Official Records
The missing five hours.

Share | 
 

 Genuine opinions

Go down 
AuthorMessage
John

avatar

Posts : 2527
Join date : 2009-04-06
Age : 55
Location : UK

PostSubject: Genuine opinions   Sun Aug 22, 2010 11:04 pm

Just a few simple questions. Was it right for the British to invade Zululand considering that the British and the Zulu’s had a very good relationship in the past?

Should Cetewayo have made more effort to avoid war?

And was it really fare to go to war knowing that the opponents, has far less sophisticated weaponry. The British knew a lot about the ways of the Zulu. They certainly knew that they were only equipped with Shields and Spears, and the maybe a old flintlock Brown-Bess rifle.

Back to top Go down
Frank Allewell

avatar

Posts : 6691
Join date : 2009-09-21
Age : 71
Location : Cape Town South Africa

PostSubject: Re: Genuine opinions   Mon Aug 23, 2010 2:50 pm

hi John
Very definitly it wasnt 'morally or ethically' right to invade. The whole thing was a put up job to annex the kingdom, combine all the southern provinces and protect British investment in the area. Blame Frere and Chelmsford.
Cetshwayo was a proud Zulu chief, but still he bent over backwards to avoid a war. He tried to meet the demands of the ultimation as much as possible. Lets face it the ultimation was designed to be impossible.
As for the last queerie, alls fair in love and war.
The art of war is to win. But for a bunch of savages armed with spears and shields, they gave the Brits one hell of a fright.
Regards
Back to top Go down
Umbiki

avatar

Posts : 131
Join date : 2010-07-04
Location : Gloucester, UK

PostSubject: Re: Genuine opinions   Mon Aug 23, 2010 4:24 pm

Hi John

I pretty much agree with Springbok9; the King was put in an impossible position.

But it is timely that you have asked these questions as I am currently just over half way through Ian Knight's new book, "Zulu Rising" in which he covers, in some detail, the Zulu perspectives on the road to war. I absolutely promise you that the relevant chapters - that I have read so far - will provide you with enough food for thought to enable you to draw your own conclusions - if you haven't already - on the entirely valid points you raise.

U
Back to top Go down
90th

avatar

Posts : 9533
Join date : 2009-04-07
Age : 61
Location : Melbourne, Australia

PostSubject: genuine opinions   Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:35 am

hi John .
I agree with sprinbok , as for the british knowing the way of the zulu , I'm not to sure , they knew the way of
the other coloured tribes , but in my way of thinking severly under-estimated the zulu's courage and pride.
They no doubt thought it would be a walk-over in which they were sadly mistaken Suspect .
cheers 90th.
Back to top Go down
littlehand

avatar

Posts : 7046
Join date : 2009-04-24
Age : 49
Location : Down South.

PostSubject: Re: Genuine opinions   Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:15 pm

Dalkeith remarked : —

" If we cast our eyes to South Africa, what do we behold ? That a nation whom we term savages have, in defence of their own land, offered their naked bodies to the terribly improved artillery and arms of modern European science, and have been mowed down by hundreds and by thousands, having committed no offence, but having, with rude and ignorant courage, done what were for them, and done faithfully and bravely what were for them the duties of patriotism. You may talk of glory, you may offer rewards, —and you are right to give rewards to the gallantry of your soldiers, who I think are entitled not only to our admiration for courage, but to our compassion for the nature of the duties they have been called to perform but the grief and pain none the less remain."
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Genuine opinions   

Back to top Go down
 
Genuine opinions
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
WWW.1879ZULUWAR.COM  :: GENERAL DISCUSSION AREA-
Jump to: