WWW.1879ZULUWAR.COM

Zulu Dawn Film Lt. Col. Pulleine: Lord Chelmsford assures us that there is no way the Zulu can get around us without our knowing. Col. Durnford: Zulu generals have a nasty habit of doing the unexpected. It might be wise to picket the hills.
 
HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  PublicationsPublications  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Latest topics
»  Isandlwana cultural centre
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyToday at 6:11 am by John Young

»  Corporal F.Schiess
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyYesterday at 6:38 am by barry

» My new project HELP WANTED
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySat May 25, 2019 7:49 pm by Frank Allewell

» The Old Store and Road
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyFri May 24, 2019 3:05 pm by Frank Allewell

» Durnford's penultimate order.
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu May 23, 2019 10:56 am by Bill8183

» Surgeon Major Frederick Beaufort Scott - Army Medical Department
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySat May 18, 2019 10:48 pm by Isandula

» Request - Like Lions They Fought by Robert B Edgerton
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySat May 18, 2019 11:34 am by 1879graves

» George Hampden Whalley
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyFri May 17, 2019 5:55 pm by 1879graves

» ISANDLWANA SURVIVIORS
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu May 16, 2019 10:11 am by steve.333

» Bassage Diary
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyTue May 14, 2019 9:30 pm by Rory Reynolds

» Lance Sergeant James Taylor (25B/82) E Company 2nd Battalion, 24th Regiment (2nd Warwickshire),
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyMon May 13, 2019 10:28 pm by Tim Needham

» The Western Slopes
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySun May 12, 2019 9:33 am by ymob

» Isandlwana, Last Stands
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu May 09, 2019 4:34 pm by ymob

» Clifford Scott
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu May 09, 2019 1:59 pm by Julian Whybra

» Soldiers Life and Work in South Africa - Durnford
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyTue May 07, 2019 9:16 am by 90th

The Death of Lt. Frith, 17th Lancers.
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Screenshot-20190305-200950-Gallery-181x240 At eZungeni, Zulu War of 1879" original painting by Hermanus Willem Koekkoek (1869-1929) (Isandula Collection)
Isandlwana & Rorke's Drift 22nd January 2019
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Top posters
90th
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
Frank Allewell
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
littlehand
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
ADMIN
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
1879graves
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
rusteze
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
Chelmsfordthescapegoat
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
John
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
Mr M. Cooper
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
impi
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
Fair Use Notice
Fair use notice. This website may contain copyrighted material the use of which has not been specifically authorised by the copyright owner. We are making such material and images are available in our efforts to advance the understanding of the “Anglo Zulu War of 1879. For educational & recreational purposes. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material, as provided for in UK copyright law. The information is purely for educational and research purposes only. No profit is made from any part of this website. If you hold the copyright on any material on the site, or material refers to you, and you would like it to be removed, please let us know and we will work with you to reach a resolution.
Top posting users this month
Frank Allewell
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
ymob
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
Julian Whybra
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
John Young
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
1879graves
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
SRB1965
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
rusteze
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
90th
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
Tim Needham
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
aussie inkosi
The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_leftThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  BarThe best zulu war book in your opinion.  Bar_right 
Most active topics
Isandlwana, Last Stands
Durnford was he capable.1
Pte David Jenkins. 'Forgotten' Survivor of Rorke's Drift Returned to Official Records
Durnford was he capable. 4
Durnford was he capable.5
The ammunition question
Durnford was he capable.2
Durnford was he capable. 3
Pte David Jenkins. 'Forgotten' Survivor of Rorke's Drift Returned to Official Records
The missing five hours.

Share
 

 The best zulu war book in your opinion.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Chuckles



Posts : 4
Join date : 2013-09-07

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySat Sep 07, 2013 3:43 pm

Hi, I'm a new member and was wondering in your opinion what is the best and most informative book you have read on this war.
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySat Sep 07, 2013 6:28 pm

Hi chuckles, where to start..you could
start off with a second hand paperback of
Donald Morris..The Washing of the Spears.
had its criticisms on specific points but
overall a most comprehensive account of
the early South Afican tribal and white
settlers in the middle to latter part of the
nineteeth century culminating in the AZW
of 1879.

I think that if you had asked for the ten most
popular books you would have been in real
trouble, you would of got hundreds of diff-
erent opinions lol.stick with it.its a life con-
suming passion if it gets a grip of you.
cheers xhosa2000
Back to top Go down
John

John

Posts : 2555
Join date : 2009-04-06
Age : 56
Location : UK

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySat Sep 07, 2013 7:51 pm

Have a look at this link

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
Back to top Go down
John

John

Posts : 2555
Join date : 2009-04-06
Age : 56
Location : UK

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySat Sep 07, 2013 7:54 pm

And this one! 

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
Back to top Go down
sas1

sas1

Posts : 629
Join date : 2009-01-20
Age : 40

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySat Sep 07, 2013 10:18 pm

"

The Washing of the Spears.


Wasn't this the book, that was the basis for the mistakes? 
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySat Sep 07, 2013 11:11 pm

Hi sas1, the basis for the mistakes were.
confederation.complacency,arrogance,
underestimation,ect. oh you mean Morris,
apart from the FEW mistakes theres no
other book on the AZW to touch it.any
body care to tell me a few alternatives.
cheers xhosa2000
Back to top Go down
Chuckles



Posts : 4
Join date : 2013-09-07

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySat Sep 07, 2013 11:24 pm

Hi xhosa2000, thanks for the reply mate. I'm told ZULU by Saul David is very good tho I haven't read it myself. But by most accounts Washing of the spears is the one to have.
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySat Sep 07, 2013 11:41 pm

Hiya chuckles,im sure others will welcome you
and nurture your quest for more infomation.
in the meantime just enjoy your journey into
this fascinating slice of our recent history.
cheers pal xhosa
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySat Sep 07, 2013 11:58 pm

All, further to morris.his detractors always...
recite his lack of sources..jealousy..think
about why he did'nt,then consider his posi-
tion. a yank. a spook.coming to the subject
with scant academic re-sauce material to
draw on.communication in his day, no internet.
using the days technology. ie, the pen, the
telephone. i suggest his sources would have
been impeccable.theres a lot of modern and
current academics who must concede his
place in the percieved wisdom on the AZW of
1979.he himself scorned the title Academic..
and dont forget in the early 60's his bibliog-
raphy was to die for..i haunted librarys and
second hand bookshops from the age 14.
credit where its due.or tell me why not.
cheers xhosa
Back to top Go down
Frank Allewell

Frank Allewell

Posts : 7195
Join date : 2009-09-21
Age : 72
Location : Cape Town South Africa

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySun Sep 08, 2013 8:09 am

Chuckles
I worship xhosa like a brother, but hes smoking some thing he shouldnt be.
Read TWOTS at your peril, its fraught with mistakes tht have passed into lore. Unfortunatly he didnt get the nick name of make it up Morris for nothing. Les has it taped in that he wrote most of the book from Berlin with little access to accounts and there in is the problem, he tended to fill in the gaps with supersistion. A lot of his tails are still provoking discussion ( look at this forum alone).
I dont believe ther is one definative book on the complete Zulu nation. Start with EA Richter or CT Binns for early Shaka then work into Zulu Rising. That will give you the bones to build on, from there look through the research books. Smith Whybra and Jackson for instance.


Good hunting

Cheers
Back to top Go down
Chuckles



Posts : 4
Join date : 2013-09-07

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySun Sep 08, 2013 8:50 am

Cheers springbok. And everyone else for their replies. As for Xhosa smoking something he shouldn't be lol, I just quit and it's killing me but that's another story. Thanks again mate.
Back to top Go down
impi

impi

Posts : 2308
Join date : 2010-07-02
Age : 39

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySun Sep 08, 2013 9:01 am

Chuckles. My grandad smoked, from the age of 14, and lived a very active life. He stopped smoking at tne age of 88 and passed away the same year! Personally I have never smoked!
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySun Sep 08, 2013 10:46 am

I worship xhosa like a brother, ahh Frank.ditto mate.

Morris, i take back nothing. pre him what did have
and isnt it interesting to note that quite a few have
made a pretty penny pulling his work apart, and
in his own life time, but again i say look at his work ob-
jectively, The scope.the feeling that here is someone
who popped up out of the blue, and landed his weighty
tome smack bang in the midst of british academia who
at first had no response. untill the excellent David
Jackson published his work in JAHR.

Sorry it was so easy for some to plunder his work and
for the most part he refused to defend him self.his mistakes
are just that.mistakes.not crimes.i think his work should
be celebrated and given its rightful place in understanding
the events that occurred in the AZW.and i say again..who
back in the day was doing ANYTHING to further our under-
standing. in my opinion Morris was derided by people who
have not produced anything to match his stunning overall
view of Southern Africa in the early days of that beautiful
country. cheers xhosa
Back to top Go down
90th

90th

Posts : 9956
Join date : 2009-04-07
Age : 63
Location : Melbourne, Australia

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: The best zulu war booki in your opinion    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySun Sep 08, 2013 10:47 am

Hi Chuckles .
Firstly welcome aboard , secondly , unfortunately there is ' No ' one book to cover the war , it depends on what part of the war you most want to read about or if it's all the war ? .
Cheers 90th
Back to top Go down
Chuckles



Posts : 4
Join date : 2013-09-07

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySun Sep 08, 2013 11:11 am

Cheers 90th.
All of it mate. Read a couple of books already mate but in my opinion not enough attention is given to the lesser known battles. It all seems to be about the "big 2". Also I want to broaden my knowledge on this subject cos I've been thru this forum and I thought I knew about this war until I came across you lot. Lol. Cheers buddy.
Back to top Go down
90th

90th

Posts : 9956
Join date : 2009-04-07
Age : 63
Location : Melbourne, Australia

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: The best zulu war books in your opinion   The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySun Sep 08, 2013 12:34 pm

Hi Chuckles .
If you are able send me a pm and let me know what you've read . I'll reply with some sort of list for you to mull over , some can be obtained easily , others more difficult and some what more expensive . I'm happy to send you what I think is a '' must have list '' .
Cheers 90th. You need to study mo 
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySun Sep 08, 2013 2:19 pm

The book of Mr Jackson is insurpassable Very Happy 
Back to top Go down
Frank Allewell

Frank Allewell

Posts : 7195
Join date : 2009-09-21
Age : 72
Location : Cape Town South Africa

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySun Sep 08, 2013 3:17 pm

I believe the discussion is about the best Zulu War book? If that is right then it cant be David Jackson, he is focused on one battle. Actually apart from Morris who do we have thats written about the war as a whole. The Narrative? Then and Now? Any other offerings.

Cheers
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptySun Sep 08, 2013 3:58 pm

Yes but as is Isandhlwana that characterizes this war, I think it is still the masterpiece of Mr. David Jackson, the best!
Back to top Go down
waterloo50

waterloo50

Posts : 600
Join date : 2013-09-18
Location : West Country

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: The best Zulu book    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyWed Sep 18, 2013 4:19 pm

Hi chuckles,
I am also a new member and I wasn't sure where to start, I recently got hold of a book called 'Zulu Rising' by 'Ian Knight' This book had taken Ian nearly 30 years to research and it is an amazing read which is packed with facts that aren't always covered in other books. Ian explains the structure of Zulu lives and traditions and he gives a very detailed and balanced picture from both the Zulu and British perspectives. He covers the ordinary British soldier and their day to day lives, soldiers such as Anthony Durnford and Charlie Harford. This book also goes into great depth and explains to the reader the reasons why the confrontation happened. The only thing that some people may not like is the fact that this book uses words which reflect contemporary racial attitudes, including those which are regarded as highly offensive today. This book also contains photos from 1879. It is a big read but for a starting point I would highly recommend it.

Kind Regards
Back to top Go down
6pdr

6pdr

Posts : 1086
Join date : 2012-05-12
Location : NYC

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyWed Sep 18, 2013 8:30 pm

waterloo50 wrote:
Hi chuckles,
I am also a new member and I wasn't sure where to start, I recently got hold of a book called 'Zulu Rising' by 'Ian Knight' This book had taken Ian nearly 30 years to research and it is an amazing read which is packed with facts that aren't always covered in other books. Ian explains the structure of Zulu lives and traditions and he gives a very detailed and balanced picture from both the Zulu and British perspectives...It is a big read but for a starting point I would highly recommend it.
There are a great many books on this topic and they approach various aspects of the conflict in a variety of different ways so it's difficult to declare any one best book. But I agree with you the Knight's ZULU RISING is the most thoroughly integrated OVERVIEW of the Isandlwana affair to date. As you say, his 30 years of research and writing on this topic enabled him to write the most comprehensive and balanced narrative IMO...but nobody, not even Mr. Knight, can fill in all the blanks. Also, as new evidence surfaces the ground keeps shifting beneath our feet...but ZULU RISING is a wonderful synthesis and probably his magnum opus.
Back to top Go down
littlehand

littlehand

Posts : 7072
Join date : 2009-04-24
Age : 50
Location : Down South.

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyWed Sep 18, 2013 8:39 pm

Your next book should be " Zulu Victory" by PQ & RL agree
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyWed Sep 18, 2013 9:19 pm

in any order,Morris, and for balance maybe,
the illustrated guide to the azw, laband and
thompson. the james stuart archive 5 vols,
the boiling cauldron, h jones, john dunn
cetywayo and the three generals,dcf moodie,
later annals of natal, a.f. hattersley.
cheers xhosa2000
Back to top Go down
SergioD

SergioD

Posts : 394
Join date : 2012-03-27
Age : 56
Location : London/Herts

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 2:25 pm

For a well written and different approach try the Snook books !! then other than above my favourites
Fearful hard times by Castle and knight
Red Soldier - Frank Emery and
Blood on the painted mountain
Back to top Go down
Frank Allewell

Frank Allewell

Posts : 7195
Join date : 2009-09-21
Age : 72
Location : Cape Town South Africa

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 2:28 pm

There are so many theories comming out now try: "Durnford, my part in his downfall", Spike Milligan
Suspect 
Back to top Go down
SergioD

SergioD

Posts : 394
Join date : 2012-03-27
Age : 56
Location : London/Herts

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 2:31 pm

springbok9 wrote:
There are so many theories comming out now try:  "Durnford, my part in his downfall", Spike Milligan
Suspect 
Hahah How about Flashman at Rorkes Drift - now there would be a great novel!!
Back to top Go down
old historian2

old historian2

Posts : 1096
Join date : 2009-01-14
Location : East London

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 2:34 pm

If you want to go on a journey through Zulu Land. Go with Mitford. 

He talks to veterant Zulu warriors who took part in the Battles we often talk about, and let him take you on to the Battlefield of Isandlwana. What he see's and what he finds on the ground.

Best of all it's free to read on line. I have read in twice. Click on link below to start your tour! agree 

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
Back to top Go down
Frank Allewell

Frank Allewell

Posts : 7195
Join date : 2009-09-21
Age : 72
Location : Cape Town South Africa

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 2:45 pm

Sergio
Doesnt Flashman do isandlwana in one of his books?
Back to top Go down
littlehand

littlehand

Posts : 7072
Join date : 2009-04-24
Age : 50
Location : Down South.

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 2:47 pm

old historian2 wrote:
If you want to go on a journey through Zulu Land. Go with Mitford. 

He talks to veterant Zulu warriors who took part in the Battles we often talk about, and let him take you on to the Battlefield of Isandlwana. What he see's and what he finds on the ground.

Best of all it's free to read on line. I have read in twice. Click on link below to start your tour! agree 

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
You need to study mo agree Salute
Back to top Go down
SergioD

SergioD

Posts : 394
Join date : 2012-03-27
Age : 56
Location : London/Herts

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 3:10 pm

springbok9 wrote:
Sergio
Doesnt Flashman do isandlwana in one of his books?
probably he did get around - he  had time to get from Custers last stand to Isandlwana and to be shacked up with some Zulu princess after the battle!!
Back to top Go down
6pdr

6pdr

Posts : 1086
Join date : 2012-05-12
Location : NYC

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 3:28 pm

SergioD wrote:
Hahah How about Flashman at Rorkes Drift - now there would be a great novel!!
SergioD -- I think we've been through this one before. Fraser wrote about Isandlwana in FLASHMAN AND THE TIGER, but perhaps you want a more fulsome treatment?
Back to top Go down
Frank Allewell

Frank Allewell

Posts : 7195
Join date : 2009-09-21
Age : 72
Location : Cape Town South Africa

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 3:28 pm

Sergio
At the beginning of "Flashman and the Tiger", Flashman is in South Africa fleeing from the Battle of Isandlwana in a wagon. After his escape, he meets Tiger Jack Moran about ten miles (16 km) away, and both head to Rorke's Drift and the nightmare that awaits them. Later, at the mention of Flashman's name, Moran says "if I'd only known.

Wikepedia does have its uses after all, apart from being a main source of info for CTSG that is.

Cheers
Back to top Go down
SergioD

SergioD

Posts : 394
Join date : 2012-03-27
Age : 56
Location : London/Herts

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 3:41 pm

You are right 6pdr I do recall it know - blame it on my rapdily aging brain..
Back to top Go down
6pdr

6pdr

Posts : 1086
Join date : 2012-05-12
Location : NYC

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 3:46 pm

springbok9 wrote:
At the beginning of "Flashman and the Tiger", Flashman is in South Africa fleeing from the Battle of Isandlwana in a wagon...
More at the end. The roundabout discussion of his cowardice begins in the early p.280s but it isn't until page 288 that he names Isandlwana: "The whole world new I was one of the few who escaped the Isan'lwana massacre in '79, but that was no disgrace since there were no living witnesses to my terrified flight, and if Cumming chose to make the worst of it, much good it would do him with my heroic reputation."

He then goes on to say that it's when and where the charge was made that worries him because he suspects it was while Cumming was tupping Elspeth.
Back to top Go down
6pdr

6pdr

Posts : 1086
Join date : 2012-05-12
Location : NYC

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 3:51 pm

SergioD wrote:
You are right 6pdr I do recall it know - blame it on my rapdily aging brain..
No problem Sergio. Been there. Done that myself. Fraser's account seems to be based on the account of the guy who (claims to have) hid just outside Rorke's Drift and watched part of that battle by the fire before fleeing. No Zulu priestesses involved, unfortunately. I wonder why Fraser chose to (mostly) avoid this campaign when it would have been such a natural one to include in his ouvre? Too obvious maybe? Anybody have any theories?
Back to top Go down
6pdr

6pdr

Posts : 1086
Join date : 2012-05-12
Location : NYC

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 4:04 pm

littlehand wrote:
Your next book should be " Zulu Victory" by PQ & RL agree
I agree...but to fully appreciate how innovative that thinking was you first have to have read Morris. Coming from the opposite perspective Snooks' books are less reliable overall but equally thought provoking. And I think everybody should be forced to read John Laband at gunpoint if they don't come to him voluntarily. Since the majority of troops on the British side were in the Natal Native Contingent P.S. Thompson's book is indispensable to BEGIN the process of rounding out the picture. None of these are primary sources of course, which would comprise another list entirely.
Back to top Go down
impi

impi

Posts : 2308
Join date : 2010-07-02
Age : 39

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 4:06 pm

springbok9 wrote:
Sergio
At the beginning of "Flashman and the Tiger", Flashman is in South Africa fleeing from the Battle of Isandlwana in a wagon. After his escape, he meets Tiger Jack Moran about ten miles (16 km) away, and both head to Rorke's Drift and the nightmare that awaits them. Later, at the mention of Flashman's name, Moran says "if I'd only known.

Wikepedia does have its uses after all, apart from being a main source of info for CTSG that is.

Cheers
And there's CTSG Saying all those nice things about you, yesterday!!! No
Back to top Go down
Frank Allewell

Frank Allewell

Posts : 7195
Join date : 2009-09-21
Age : 72
Location : Cape Town South Africa

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 4:25 pm

CTSG and nice in one sentence? Isnt that an oxymoron? Shocked 
Back to top Go down
impi

impi

Posts : 2308
Join date : 2010-07-02
Age : 39

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 4:31 pm

Click on link Page 2. 7th post down.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
Back to top Go down
Frank Allewell

Frank Allewell

Posts : 7195
Join date : 2009-09-21
Age : 72
Location : Cape Town South Africa

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyFri Sep 20, 2013 7:43 am

Impi
Yes I saw it Salute  You need to know that CTSG and I go way back, the banter between us is just that. Very Happy 

Cheers
Back to top Go down
Chelmsfordthescapegoat

Chelmsfordthescapegoat

Posts : 2572
Join date : 2009-04-24

The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  EmptyFri Sep 20, 2013 9:09 am

springbok9 wrote:
CTSG and nice in one sentence? Isnt that an oxymoron? Shocked 
agree scratch Don\'t agree
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty
PostSubject: Re: The best zulu war book in your opinion.    The best zulu war book in your opinion.  Empty

Back to top Go down
 
The best zulu war book in your opinion.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
WWW.1879ZULUWAR.COM  :: GENERAL DISCUSSION AREA-
Jump to: