WWW.1879ZULUWAR.COM

Film Zulu Dawn:General Lord Chelmsford: For a savage, as for a child, chastisement is sometimes a kindness. Sir Henry Bartle Frere: Let us hope, General, that this will be the final solution to the Zulu problem.
 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Latest topics
» Late Father's Militaria Collection
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyToday at 2:16 pm by Julian Whybra

» A Hungarian soldier in the Zulu War (?)
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyToday at 11:28 am by Eddie

» Lieut. B. Pohl, No. 7 Coy 1/3 Natal Native Contingent
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyYesterday at 9:26 am by SRB1965

» Alfred Fairlie Henderson photographs.
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyFri Apr 19, 2024 7:04 am by John Young

» Anson A. Mayer/Maher
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyTue Apr 16, 2024 5:28 pm by cmeghen

» No. 985. PTE. EDWARD READ. 2-24 Regt. (South Wales Borders).
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySun Apr 14, 2024 8:12 pm by Julian Whybra

» Private Willis 2/24th Regiment his letter from South Africa
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySat Apr 13, 2024 2:49 pm by 1879graves

» Sickness among Crealock's men
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyFri Apr 12, 2024 4:52 pm by Hobbes

» Wheeler John Cantwell DCM, RD survivor of the Royal Horse Artillery
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyTue Apr 09, 2024 5:20 pm by Kenny

» Brevet Major W.R.B. Chamberlin
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySun Apr 07, 2024 5:44 pm by Jager1

» Private 1941 Samuel MacClue / McClune 1/24th Regiment
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySun Apr 07, 2024 3:11 pm by Dash

» Sergeant W E Warren RA - Veteran
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySun Apr 07, 2024 10:50 am by DavidS

» "With 6 good riflemen"
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySat Apr 06, 2024 5:10 pm by Hobbes

» Punch's view of Chelmsford's tactics!
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyWed Apr 03, 2024 5:17 pm by SRB1965

» Colonialism: A Moral Legacy
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyMon Apr 01, 2024 11:16 am by Julian Whybra

» John Robert Dunn
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySat Mar 30, 2024 12:09 pm by 90th

» An early memorial to the Prince Imperial?
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySat Mar 30, 2024 10:35 am by John Young

» The Poem "A Child Hero" referring to Rupert Weatherley
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyFri Mar 29, 2024 1:07 pm by Bongo

» Writing advice
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyTue Mar 26, 2024 2:26 pm by Julian Whybra

» Private John Scott 24th Regiment a fugitive at large
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyWed Mar 20, 2024 12:53 pm by Dash

» Your favourite line from Zulu or Zulu Dawn
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyTue Mar 19, 2024 4:52 pm by Julian Whybra

» 100,000 posts!
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyTue Mar 19, 2024 2:20 pm by Julian Whybra

» Zulu Dawn/Zulu - New Immortals Film The Way Forward ?
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySat Mar 16, 2024 2:34 pm by jgregory

» Badge on 2/60th and 3/60th foreign service helmets
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySat Mar 16, 2024 11:05 am by John Young

» Corporal James Frowen Williams F Company.
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyFri Mar 15, 2024 9:08 am by Julian Whybra

» British rations and morale
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyMon Mar 11, 2024 11:05 pm by Julian Whybra

» Blue Plaque to James Egan, alias Private Hagan
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyMon Mar 11, 2024 9:16 pm by ADMIN

» A few questions regarding Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyWed Mar 06, 2024 9:16 pm by Julian Whybra

» William J Hoare 24th Regiment??
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySun Mar 03, 2024 7:08 pm by Dash

» Swinburn Carbine issue in AZW
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Feb 29, 2024 12:53 pm by Rob D

» Australians who went to Zululand and fought in the 1879 war.
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Feb 29, 2024 8:39 am by John Young

» Philip Price
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Feb 29, 2024 7:55 am by Julian Whybra

» Alfred Fairlie Henderson
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Feb 29, 2024 7:47 am by RoryReynolds

» August Hammar Letter Dated 6th Jan 1879
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Feb 22, 2024 8:34 pm by Stefaan

» Bearing The Cross by Ken Blakeson | BBC RADIO DRAMA: Ken Blakeson's play tells the story of the Battle of Rorke's Drift and the effect it had on three of the soldiers who fought in it.
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyWed Feb 21, 2024 10:57 am by Julian Whybra

Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
April 2024
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     
CalendarCalendar
Most active topics
Durnford was he capable.1
Durnford was he capable. 4
Durnford was he capable.5
Pte David Jenkins. 'Forgotten' Survivor of Rorke's Drift Returned to Official Records
Isandlwana, Last Stands
The ammunition question
Durnford was he capable. 3
Durnford was he capable.2
Pte David Jenkins. 'Forgotten' Survivor of Rorke's Drift Returned to Official Records
The missing five hours.
Most Viewed Topics
Please Do Not Post Ads on Our Forum
Google Chrome new standards imposed
Isandlwana, Last Stands
Pte David Jenkins. 'Forgotten' Survivor of Rorke's Drift Returned to Official Records
Recent Members To The ZULU WAR 1879 Discussion & Reference Forum ( A Small Victorian War in 1879)
The missing five hours.
ISANDLWANA SURVIVIORS
The ammunition question
Lieutenant Adendorff 1-3 N.N.C.
Pte David Jenkins. 'Forgotten' Survivor of Rorke's Drift Returned to Official Records
Top posting users this month
Hobbes
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_leftBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... BarBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_right 
John Young
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_leftBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... BarBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_right 
Julian Whybra
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_leftBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... BarBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_right 
SRB1965
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_leftBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... BarBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_right 
Kenny
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_leftBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... BarBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_right 
A Crockart
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_leftBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... BarBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_right 
Petty Officer Tom
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_leftBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... BarBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_right 
Jager1
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_leftBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... BarBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_right 
Dash
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_leftBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... BarBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_right 
cmeghen
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_leftBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... BarBook Purchase? Opinions needed please... Bar_right 
New topics
» Lieut. B. Pohl, No. 7 Coy 1/3 Natal Native Contingent
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyYesterday at 12:38 am by WeekendWarrior

» Alfred Fairlie Henderson photographs.
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyFri Apr 19, 2024 7:04 am by John Young

» Late Father's Militaria Collection
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Apr 18, 2024 3:04 pm by A Crockart

» Anson A. Mayer/Maher
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyTue Apr 16, 2024 5:28 pm by cmeghen

» A Hungarian soldier in the Zulu War (?)
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySun Apr 14, 2024 8:01 pm by Hobbes

» Sickness among Crealock's men
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Apr 11, 2024 8:51 pm by Hobbes

» Wheeler John Cantwell DCM, RD survivor of the Royal Horse Artillery
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySun Apr 07, 2024 9:36 pm by Hobbes

» John Robert Dunn
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySat Mar 30, 2024 11:47 am by SueSNB

» The Poem "A Child Hero" referring to Rupert Weatherley
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyFri Mar 29, 2024 1:07 pm by Bongo

Similar topics
Zero tolerance to harassment and bullying.
Due to recent events on this forum, we have now imposed a zero tolerance to harassment and bullying. All reports will be treated seriously, and will lead to a permanent ban of both membership and IP address. Any member blatantly corresponding in a deliberate and provoking manner will be removed from the forum as quickly as possible after the event.  If any members are being harassed behind the scenes PM facility by any member/s here at 1879zuluwar.com please do not hesitate to forward the offending text.  We are all here to communicate and enjoy the various discussions and information on the Anglo Zulu War of 1879. Opinions will vary, you will agree and disagree with one another, we will have debates, and so it goes. There is no excuse for harassment or bullying of anyone by another person on this site. The above applies to the main frame areas of the forum. The ring which is the last section on the forum, is available to those members who wish to partake in slagging matches. That section cannot be viewed by guests and only viewed by members that wish to do so. 
Fair Use Notice
Fair use notice. This website may contain copyrighted material the use of which has not been specifically authorised by the copyright owner. We are making such material and images are available in our efforts to advance the understanding of the “Anglo Zulu War of 1879. For educational & recreational purposes. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material, as provided for in UK copyright law. The information is purely for educational and research purposes only. No profit is made from any part of this website. If you hold the copyright on any material on the site, or material refers to you, and you would like it to be removed, please let us know and we will work with you to reach a resolution.
 

 Book Purchase? Opinions needed please...

Go down 
+3
rai
90th
mons14
7 posters
AuthorMessage
mons14

mons14


Posts : 101
Join date : 2009-10-28

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: Book Purchase? Opinions needed please...   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Jul 15, 2010 1:50 am

I just cant find enough to read on Isandlwana to satisfy my need for more information on the battle.

I’m wondering if you fellows might be able to help with a couple questions please…

I have books by the following major players – Jackson (both books), Knight (the big silver book), Mike Snook (my favorite version of the battle) Morris (the one that started me into all this in the first place), and Norman Holme. As well as a good sprinkling of more generalized books on the Zulu War as a whole.

Now then, my questions for you:

1.Can you recommend any other books on the Battle of Isandlwana that are worth a purchase (and why if you have the time)

2.I note that Ian Knight has done an Isandlwana book for the Osprey series which I have been tempted to purchase many times but have not…. I wondered if it is the same as the silver book? Has he changed it up for the Osprey publication?

Thanks in advance guys,

mons
Back to top Go down
90th

90th


Posts : 10882
Join date : 2009-04-07
Age : 67
Location : Melbourne, Australia

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: isandlwana book.   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Jul 15, 2010 6:24 am

hi mons .
You will certainly enjoy ' Zulu Victory - The Epic of Isandlwana and the cover up ' by Ron Lock and Peter Quantrill.
This is the book ctsg should purchase and see if he still thinks the Good Lord Blameless !. I have it and really enjoyed it.
Dont have time to review it for you , but will post a link where you can get it at a great price . :)

http://www.abebooks.co.uk/servlet/SearchResults?isbn=1853675059&sortby=3&sts=t&x=13&y=8

cheers 90th.
Back to top Go down
90th

90th


Posts : 10882
Join date : 2009-04-07
Age : 67
Location : Melbourne, Australia

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: zulu rising   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Jul 15, 2010 6:41 am

hi Mons .
Ian Knight's new book will no doubt also be a decent purchase , from what I know it takes the same approach as the
' Big Silver Book ' but goes into much more background context . Much more on the zulu perspective , Ian Knight
has attempted to follow the lives of several individuals on either side , Harford , Mehlokazulu , Fred Symons etc etc.
Also more detailed accounts of the fighting at Sihayo's , Isandlwana , Mangeni and Rorkes Drift. I will be buying it .
cheers 90th.
Back to top Go down
90th

90th


Posts : 10882
Join date : 2009-04-07
Age : 67
Location : Melbourne, Australia

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: book purchases   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Jul 15, 2010 6:47 am

hi Mons .
Forgot to add , I dont have the Knight publication from Osprey on Isandlwana , but I dont see it having the same amount
of detail as the Silver book or his new book ' Zulu Rising ' . hope this helps Idea .
cheers 90th.
Back to top Go down
rai




Posts : 1069
Join date : 2009-10-16

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Book Purchase? Opinions needed please...   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Jul 15, 2010 7:24 am

Hi All,
You have probably read the major books on Isandhlwana, except the Colenso/Durnford and Durnford books, you now need to read the individual accounts, ie the court of enquiry, any first hand accounts/letters/diaries, some are on line, some published in books,
Happy hunting.
Rai
Keynshamlighthorse
Back to top Go down
mons14

mons14


Posts : 101
Join date : 2009-10-28

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Book Purchase? Opinions needed please...   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Jul 15, 2010 3:16 pm

Thanks 90th, I will definately look to get the new Knight book and 'Zulu Victory' - really appreciate you taking the time to describe these to me.

I've seen the 'Zulu Victory' book before but not purchased it as I wondered if this was more about grand conspiricy theories which is not an interest for me....but if sounds like there is more then that in play, so will make an effort to get this one.

Again thanks a lot 90th some great advice there!!

Rai - I would agree with your comments re: first hand accounts. I had downloaded every Zulu and survivor account from your web-site (many years ago) before it closed. These accounts are simply superb, and a cherished part of my library.

I aslo have a reprind of the 'Narrative of The Field Operations connected with The Zulu War of 1879 (1907 Edition - modern reprint)' which is very good, but obviously less accurate then some of the more modern conclusions from historians today - but still very valuable stuff.

I would very much like to get hold of the Durnford books but not sure where to look?

Thanks again guys,

mons



Back to top Go down
1879graves

1879graves


Posts : 3362
Join date : 2009-03-03
Location : Devon

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Book Purchase? Opinions needed please...   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyThu Jul 15, 2010 8:31 pm

Hi Mons14

This book can be read online

http://www.archive.org/stream/ruinofzululandac01coleuoft#page/n3/mode/2up

http://www.archive.org/stream/ruinofzululandac02coleuoft#page/n7/mode/2up
Back to top Go down
http://zuluwar1879.tribalpages.com
90th

90th


Posts : 10882
Join date : 2009-04-07
Age : 67
Location : Melbourne, Australia

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: book purchases   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyFri Jul 16, 2010 3:28 am

hi mons14.
A collegue has contacted me in regard to Ian Knight's osprey publication of Isandlwana . There are photos in the
book which havent been published elsewhere ,as far as he is aware , also there are 3 full page battle scenes by Adam Hook , who I am
not familiar with . It seems I may need to purchase a copy also . :) . My collegue thinks it is a worthy publication ,
so I think I shall chase down a copy also . :lol!:
cheers 90th.
Back to top Go down
Umbiki

Umbiki


Posts : 131
Join date : 2010-07-04
Location : Gloucester, UK

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Book Purchase? Opinions needed please...   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyFri Jul 16, 2010 1:03 pm

Hi Mons14

If it is specific to iSandlwana that you are after then you might also like to consider, "Zulu Battle Piece Isandhlwana" by Sir Reginald Coupland. First published in 1948 but reprinted in 1991 (with an introduction by Ian Knight which rates the book as, "a classic amongst the literature of the Anglo Zulu War"). OK, much water in the shape of different theories has passed under the bridge since then but still a worthy addition to any AZW library in my view.

But talking of Ian Knight, I did get the opportunity to ask him about his forthcoming book, "Zulu Rising" and he told me, (and I quote with his kind permission);

" It's undoubtedly my most detailed and thorough analysis of the battles so far - it comes in at just over 600 pages - and I've tried very much to get inside the lives of participants on both sides, to weave their stories together to explore the clash of cultures and political tensions which led to the war, then follow them across the battlefield. This ranges from obvious and important characters like Chelmsford and Durnford to Zulus like Mehlokazulu kaSihayo and Matshana kaMondise, and I wanted very much to bring them alive as individuals, to give them a life before the battle and - if they survived! - afterwards. To that extent it's quite a human story, and I hope that the reader becomes engaged with these people - and as a result the descriptions of the fighting become pretty visceral. I've also tried to suggest the impact the war had afterwards on those concerned. I've also drawn on my own experiences of the sites over more than thirty years now to give a sense of the terrain and its particular atmosphere. To me it feels significantly different from most of what I've written before - but obviously I'll have to leave that to the readers to judge! If there are any! "

Just to add, I am also aware that the historian Neil Oliver has described the book as, "full of fresh thinking, new ideas and new wisdom" while John Laband thinks it, "magisterial but grippingly readable" and "definitive in the field".

So, perhaps two publications - one old and one brand new - for you to consider adding to your growing 'iSandlwana' library Mons 14?

Hope this is helpful.

U


Back to top Go down
littlehand

littlehand


Posts : 7076
Join date : 2009-04-24
Age : 55
Location : Down South.

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Book Purchase? Opinions needed please...   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyFri Jul 16, 2010 7:52 pm

"Zulu Battle Piece Isandhlwana" by Sir Reginald Coupland

Reprint, 144pp., 9 plates, 4 maps. VG in dw. TDPLtd. 1991. First modern study of the battle & subsequent events at Rorke's Drift. Reprint of the classic work with intro. by Ian Knight.
Back to top Go down
mons14

mons14


Posts : 101
Join date : 2009-10-28

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Book Purchase? Opinions needed please...   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyFri Jul 16, 2010 9:02 pm

OK good stuff, some more great suggestions...I better start saving my pennies!!

Thank you 90th for the further information on the Osprey book - I will now be most definately getting this book.

Thanks for the link 1879graves...I've downloaded the book :)

Thanks also Umbiki and Littlhand re: 'Zulu Battle Piece Isandlwana' another good one I will look out for.

The new Ian Knight book 'Zulu Rising' has really attracted my attention...I cant wait for this one!

mons
Back to top Go down
Mr Greaves

Mr Greaves


Posts : 747
Join date : 2009-10-18

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Book Purchase? Opinions needed please...   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyFri Jul 16, 2010 9:40 pm

'Zulu Rising' Anyone know the release date.
Back to top Go down
littlehand

littlehand


Posts : 7076
Join date : 2009-04-24
Age : 55
Location : Down South.

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Book Purchase? Opinions needed please...   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptyFri Jul 16, 2010 9:47 pm

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Zulu-Rising-Battle-Isandlwana-1879/dp/1405091851
Back to top Go down
90th

90th


Posts : 10882
Join date : 2009-04-07
Age : 67
Location : Melbourne, Australia

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: book purchases   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySat Jul 17, 2010 2:14 am

hi MrGreaves.
Cant tell you the exact date but it isnt to far away , I will take a stab and say September if not earlier.
cheers 90th.
Back to top Go down
Umbiki

Umbiki


Posts : 131
Join date : 2010-07-04
Location : Gloucester, UK

Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Book Purchase? Opinions needed please...   Book Purchase? Opinions needed please... EmptySat Jul 17, 2010 10:58 am

My understanding is 20 August for the UK - but presumably a bit later for elsewhere.

U
Back to top Go down
 
Book Purchase? Opinions needed please...
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Opinions needed Please
» Help needed
» Your Help is Needed

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
WWW.1879ZULUWAR.COM  :: ZULU WAR PUBLICATIONS & REVIEWS-
Jump to: